I Heart Lawson

As a candidate in our last Board of Directors elections, I am ecstatic to reaffirm that I heart Lawson.

While it turned into a battleground at some points, I think everyone was in it for the right reasons—we all heart Lawson. There are so many good people that live here that do so many good things within our community, a lot of which is done without us even realizing.

Which brings me to the point of this post…

As the new Chair of the Communications Committee, I’d first like to thank you for visiting and engaging in the content we’ve worked hard on for the community. We hope that you love it as much as we do. This site will be a continual work in progress and we would love to hear your feedback. You can send any feedback you have by clicking here.

So, what exactly does the communication committee do? Well, your looking at it! Welcome to our new website! It’s been a dream for a while that we are now making a reality. Along with myself (Matt Carollo), our new Board Member Sponsor, Mike Krakauskas and Dave Garlinski as our Advisor, we implemented a framework that should serve us well, now and in the future. We want to make sure that you have all of the information that you need to participate and live in this Lawson community that we all love. And we will do our best to accomplish that. Speaking of participation, if you ever want to volunteer, there is plenty of opportunity. Just fill out this form and someone will be in touch.

We also have an unofficial Facebook Group which is a great resource for information—from asking for recommendations from your neighbors to buying Girl Scout cookies — I highly recommend joining if you are not part of it yet. Note: This is a resident run forum.


As a resident…

I love turning into Lawson and feeling like I am in a resort, one in which we all live.

But that wouldn’t be the case without our Grounds Committee which consists of our Chair, Dave Garlinski, Board Member Sponsor, Danny Divers and committee members Ellen Herman, Christina Retzer & Tom Robinson.

Same goes for all of our committee members—some public recognition and a big thank you is in order for everyone taking part including:

  • Architectural Control Committee members Donn Kegel, Charles Casey and Keith McDaniel.

  • Amenities Committee which consists of our Chair, Dave Garlinski, Board Member Sponsor, Mike Sanfilippo and committee members Diane Corcoran & Laura Agati.

  • Social Committee including Co-Chairs, Tracey Grimm Hammond & Anne Diver, Board Member Sponsor, Anthony Delgigante and committee members: Lell Arthur, Christine Bennett, Allison Bevecaqua, Nicole Bentivegna, Kristin Bergeson, Lorraine Berkowitz, Leanne Brown, Denise Chimenti, Heather Cocchi, Eileen DelGigante, Susan DeFazio, Brenda Dion, Deborah Ellis, Kathleen Gavan, Bruce Herman, Jaime Knight, Shannon Mallozzi, Abbey Merendino, Jean Robinson, Kelly Sanfillippo, Nital Sutton and Kristin Verrill

A huge thank you to everyone who takes part to make our community beautiful, fun and desired as THE PLACE to live in Waxhaw.

And last but certainly not least, a heartfelt thank you to our current board members who have stepped up to the challenge. These individuals are working hard in the background to keep our community as amazing as it is. The following Lawson residents make up the 2019 Lawson Community Association Board of Directors. HOA President, Anthony DelGigante; Vice President, Mike Krakauskas; Treasurer, Mike Sanfilippo; Recording Secretary, Daniel Divers and; Sergeant at Arms: Bobby West.

I Heart Lawson.png

I Heart Lawson

If you haven’t heard me speak, the I Heart Lawson may give away that I am from NY.

I truly love Lawson as a place to live and as a place to raise my family. I hope that you find all of the information we post moving forward useful, and I encourage you to provide feedback as we are all, as a community, better together. I’m excited to take part in the next chapter of Lawson and hope you are too!